Black & White Seaside

Yesterday we had a bit of a roadtrip, visiting a few places in north Wales. One place where we stopped and took photos was Tywyn, where we had a wander up and down the seafront. It didn’t feel very summery as it was very windy and chilly. I was wrapped up in jumper and coat thankfully. It really does feel like summer is over now and autumn has begun. Anyway, on to the photos!

As it was a cloudy, moody sort of day, I thought it fitted black & white better than colour so all my shots have been edited using Silver Efex Pro. I’ve realised, after taking these shots, that I like to get people in the frame. I hope they don’t mind if they ever see these photos. I would have avoided people in the past, but I think it gives the shot more interest so it’s not just waves and sky.

Here are some of my favourite shots – click on them to view the bigger version if you like (I do recommend this as they look better full size!) …

A wide shot looking up the prom:

Children playing (they’re a lot more daring than me!):

Big rocky embankment, presumably part of the sea defences:

View up the beach, with family walking:

View back down the beach, where the sky was brighter:

Crazy girls going out on body boards (rather them than me!):

A closer view of one of the groynes, with gulls down the end on the sand:

And finally a bit of a silly one – this boat on the seafront filled with flowers reminded me of an old fashioned picture postcard – so I made it into one:

Leave a Reply

