Weekly Photo Challenge: Containers

I was thinking about the Weekly Photo Challenge, which is about ‘Containers’ this week … and wondering if there was anything I take photos of that would fit. As you know I’m mainly nature and macro, and don’t take a lot of photos of anything industrial, which is what the word containers make me think of.

But then I thought about buds. Buds contain flowers … well in fact the container part is the sepals which cover the flower while it develops. So my containers are sepals around buds!

14498945696_7863aff798_o
Ragwort Buds with lots of sepals making them stripey
14632616436_476f685d5d_o
Hedge Bindweed bud – with twisty wrapped round sepals in a lovely pointy shape

These two different types of flowers have very different buds and sepals containing their precious flowers, and there are many others I could include. I’m sticking with recent photos though.

The Ragwort buds are now opening and becoming popular with passing insects:

14685631721_4ed056c0fc_o
Fly on Ragwort flower
4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Containers

  1. What a great idea for this challenge! Flower buds are such amazingly different shapes – like little sculptures in their own right. Though I don’t think I’ve ever noticed the stripey buds on Ragwort … I shall go take a good look soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

