A Spring Friday

I had the afternoon off work today and when we got home the weather was looking reasonable so I thought it would be good to have a walk in case the weekend is soggy. As is the way, the minute we walked out the door, the sun went behind the clouds, but at least the rain held off until we were on the way back!

The big news (in my opinion) is that I saw my first Celandine! This has made me decide it is definitely spring now 🙂 I need to record this sighting on Nature’s Calendar too.

Another new flower I spotted was this Periwinkle. I think it’s a Greater Periwinkle (Vinca major). It’s not the best photo as I took it when we were on the way back in the rain and I whipped my camera out from under my coat for a quick snap!

IMG_8389

The Daffodils have just started opening. Only this one is open so far but the rest are very close. They look lovely 🙂

There are still lots of snowdrops and they are all showing off the little green patches that you don’t see when they’re first open.

I got one bird shot today – not the best and I had to crop it a fair bit so you can actually see him, but here is a Chaffinch:

IMG_8386

Back in the garden I checked on how the Willow catkins are doing and they seem to have fattened up a bit since last weekend.

IMG_8394

And finally ….

I saved these for last as I have lots of photos! Here are the Crocuses 🙂 Lots of them are opening up now and there are all sorts of colours 🙂

One thought on “A Spring Friday

  1. Lots of fabulous Spring images there, Suzy 🙂 I agree with you about the Celandines – they’re a true sign of Spring for me too. You have some fascinating crocuses there too – I’ve never seen crocuses with ‘tiger stripes’ before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

