A Winter’s Day

Today has been more like a “proper” winter’s day, with a frosty start and chill in the air, and blue skies making it look deceptively warm and inviting. It was something like 2oC when we went out for a walk this morning and it was necessary to wrap up warm. Despite the cold, I was very glad to get out, and the sunshine has lasted all day.

I checked up on the progress of the snowdrops and was pleased to see that they have grown since last week and the first flowers are showing. Looks like there will be lots more to come 🙂

There are signs of life in the hedgerows with some leaves growing on Honeysuckle, and something else I couldn’t identify.

I saw lots of birds around, but had very little luck taking photos. I saw Robins, Blue Tits, Great Tits, Blackbirds, Chaffinches, Magpies, Jackdaws, Sparrows, and probably several others I couldn’t identify. I managed one shot of a sparrow, but it’s not very good …

IMG_8041-9

No lambs yet in the fields near our house, but I am guessing that there are many on their way.

I mentioned the catkin buds on the Willow in my post yesterday, and today I grabbed a photo of a couple of them:

IMG_8070-20

Leave a Reply

