Dark Giant Horsefly

We saw this huge insect today – it looked like a giant Drone Fly, the size of a queen bumblebee. It was hanging around near the pond in the village, and it caught our eye when it flitted across the pond, landing on the water’s surface for a second and then returning to the edge. We watched it for a while as it pottered about at the edge of the pond, apparently cleaning itself and perhaps having a drink. I don’t think I’ve seen a fly so big before, so of course I got lots of photos of it. It wasn’t till we got back home that we worked out it was a Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus) which is a biter! If I’d known it could bite, I may not have got quite so close … but I’m glad I did – those eyes are amazing.

Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
Dark Giant Horsefly (Tabanus sudeticus)
4 thoughts on “Dark Giant Horsefly

  1. These images are amazing! I’ve just been recommended your blog by Growltigger and it really is lovely. Your photo’s are wonderful and have inspired me to unpack my macro lens again and give it another shot. I have found it very difficult to use and to be honest gave up, using the simple option of the macro on my compact. I will try again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

