Large Pine Weevil

edit-3845
We had a visitor a couple of days ago – this rather large weevil came and sat on the wall of our house. We took some photos and then let him be … and then last night he reappeared in the bathroom! Gave me quite a start as he was in the hinge of the bathroom door and nearly got squished. Much as I like him, I didn’t really want him in the house so I gently removed him. I am quite fond of weevils and this is the biggest one I’ve seen, with the longest “trunk”. Definitely very elephant-like! When I say large, I mean about 1 cm, so not vast, but big for a weevil! The figwort weevil for example was only 4 or 5 mm I think.

4 thoughts on “Large Pine Weevil

Leave a Reply

